FUTO Catchment Area For Admission

A lot of aspirants have been asking questions to find out the states that are among the Federal University Of Technology Owerri Catchment area for admission into the next session.

What does catchment mean in admission? let’s discuss below;

FUTO Catchment Area

What Is The Meaning Of FUTO Catchment Area?

Catchment areas are those states set out by the Federal Government for Federal Universities, that candidates from that state have more chances of gaining admission into the University which they have been specified to be among the catchment state.

Students from the states specified as Catchment states are considered privileged as they have more chances to be offered admission in that school where they are among the Catchment area.

Now that You know what the catchment area is,  what are the catchment area for the Federal University Of Technology Owerri (FUTO)? Keep reading Friend!.

FUTO Catchment Area

The Catchment Area for the Federal University Of Technology Owerri (FUTO) are:

  1. Abia

  2. Anambra

  3. Ebonyi

  4. Enugu

  5. Imo

Another set of states which also has more chances of gaining admission are called the Educationally less developed states (ELDS).

To see the General ELDS States Click Here.

Let’s assume you know the University Of Technology Owerri Catchment area for admission, let’s now look at the various ELDS state in FUTO.

FUTO ELDS For Admission

The ELDS Area for the Federal University Of Technology Owerri (FUTO) are:

  1. Adamawa

  2. Bauchi

  3. Bayelsa

  4. Benue

  5. Borno

  6. Cross River

  7. Ebonyi

  8. Gombe

  9. Jigawa

  10. Kaduna

  11. Kano

  12. Kebbi

  13. Kogi

  14. Katsina

  15. Kwara

  16. Nasarawa

  17. Niger

  18. Plateau

  19. Rivers

  20. Sokoto

  21. Taraba

  22. Yobe

  23. Zamfara

It must however be noted that this does not mean the FUTO does not admit students outside the catchment area rather the catchment areas are given special considerations. 

JAMB admission is defined in areas of merit, catchment areas, and educationally less developed states (ELDS).

Merit 45%, 35% is for catchment area and 20%  to those from educationally less developed states.

The fact is that if a candidate from another state outside the catchment area beats the MERIT cut-off mark of the Federal University Of Technology Owerri for the chosen course, he or she will be admitted regardless of the Catchment Policy.

And if you are from any of the catchment States and you failed to meet the catchment cut-off you will not be admitted into the Federal University Of Technology Owerri.


  1. How To Gain Admission Into FUTO With Ease
  2. What Are The Requirements To Enter A University?
  3. How To Pass UNICAL Post UTME
  4. Universities Catchment Area For Admission
  5. How To Pass JAMB
  6. Catchment Area For All Federal Universities
  7. After Gaining Admission What Next?
  8. FUTO Cut Off Mark For 2021/2022
  9. How Can I Get Free Scholarships In Nigeria?
  10. Courses Offered In FUTO | Full list
  11. UNIMAID Catchment Area For Admission
  12. Best Federal Universities in Nigeria
  13. UNICAL Catchment Area For Admission
  14. FUTO Admission Requirements For UTME/DE
  15. How To Check School Admission Status

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *